This week’s small pleasures: episode 19

It’s time again for the weekly round up of this week’s small pleasures, those little things that brighten up our days.  Thanks again to A New Life Wandering for starting this (see her latest small pleasures post here).   Wellington is 18 hours ahead of Utah, where Mani of A New Life Wandering is based, so there is always a bit of a discrepancy about when we post, but that is one of the joys of modern life too I guess!  Anyway, here we go.

Comfort food for cold days

It really feels like winter, so the weekend saw soup, desert and a cottage pie – real cold weather foods to fight the winds from Antarctica.  It’s a time for roasted yams, parsnips and citrus fruit.

Lazy days on the sofa

The weather this weekend has meant a lot of time indoors, with the sofa and teapot as best friends.  I actually had time to sit down with a pile of unread magazines and do very little else.  Absolutely wonderful.

IMG_8499

Catching up time…

IMG_8500

… and time for tea in a mug from my alma mater

Pilates (again, again)

Actually, I don’t why I need to say this again, as it comes up every week. Pilates is one of my favourite things –  full stop.  I am doing a 21 Day Challenge right now, in which you are supposed to adopt a daily 5 minute habit for 21 days. My goal is to do some Pilates each day.   I started on Sunday and did 15 minutes at the first session, and am hoping that at the end of 21 days I will have established a new habit.

My side challenge is to tidy something for 5 minutes every day  – succeeded in that too on Sunday, but with work travel and other events coming up, this might be harder to keep up!

Breakfasts (again)

Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince and eat dinner like a pauper so the saying goes. I love breakfast, and a good one can set the tone for the day.  Lunch these days is rushed as I am at work, and often eat left overs or a take away sandwich. Dinner is planned and also when we sit down as a family and catch up with each other.  Breakfast, however, is a time to choose.  I’m not a cereal fan, preferring warming toast or good bread to start the day, topped with what takes my fancy – cream cheese, avocado, Marmite, eggs, smoked salmon, peanut butter, tomatoes in season and occasionally home made marmalade.

IMG_0216

Sunday breakfast this week

Dreaming of summer, dreaming of holidays

Summer is my season, so at this time of year I dream of warmer days, of holidays and sitting outside, being at the beach, feeling sand between the toes, and enjoying the fruits and vegetables of the season.

IMG_6651

Oamaru, 2016

IMG_4021

New Caledonia, 2015

IMG_1647

Paihia, 2014

Note 1: Cover picture is of Russell, which we visited in 2014

Note 2:  Also check out Middle Europe’s post of small pleasures.

5 Comments

  1. Lovely. Comfort food, cozying up with tea, yummy breakfast.. sound all very pleasant. I hope you have a great new week on the other side of the world. I also just realized I wasn’t following you, how is that possible? Well, now I am!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.