If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea we would naturally talk about the weather, about the cold, about the snow down south and how we hope spring won’t be long in coming.  We would agree that it actually hasn’t been that bad a winter so far.

IMG_8490

View from the window

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea you would ask me about my shoulder.  I would tell you that it is beginning to unfreeze a bit, but that on Monday I am going for hydrodilation and that I am not looking forward to it.  You reassure me that it is the right thing to do, and I nod, but still feel nervous.

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea, I would turn the subject round to vegetables, show you the cute tiny parsnip I found in the bag I bought this morning, and the broccoflower that looked so crisp and fresh that it screamed buy me.

IMG_8475

Red chard, parsnip and yams

IMG_8477

Broccoflower

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea, we would talk about things coming up: ballet, Beervana the craft beer event, Wellington on a Plate food festival and summer holidays, though we have yet to book something, we have some ideas.

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea, we would look at the cat and how cosy and comfortable he looks, all curled up on the sofa.

IMG_8480

Charlie takes an afternoon nap

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea, I would invite you to stay for dinner.  There’s a pot of pea soup on the stove and an apple and pear crumble about to be put in the oven.  And you say yes, as after all the weather isn’t that good and who can resist a bowl of soup and a warming pudding on a night like this?

*Footnote – cover picture is of Makara, two years ago.

*Another footnote – the crumble was made with half flour, half oats which makes an really excellent topping to everyone’s favourite classic dish.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

