This week’s small pleasures: episode 18

It’s that time again for a round up of this week’s small pleasures.  Thanks again to Mani over at A New Life Wandering for this great idea.

Daffodils

After a wet and windy Saturday, Sunday turned out lovely and sunny and even quite warm for the time of year.  We even spotted some daffodils in Bolton Street Memorial Park.  The Japanese magnolia is still in bloom in the Botanic Gardens too, hence the featured photo for this post.

 IMG_8455A mini host of golden daffodils

Sunday breakfast (again)

I know I posted about this last week, but I really do enjoy leisurely weekend breakfasts.

IMG_8450

Sunday breakfast bread

Earrings

Yes, I know, sounds daft, but I really have been enjoying these rose gold earrings I got recently.  I’m keeping them on a ring stand bought from Muji in Stockholm.

IMG_8453

Earrings and ring stand – both bring me joy

Cinema

I’ve been to the cinema three times this week – partly as the New Zealand International Film Festival is on.  The third film seen this week was Mr Gaga, a documentary about the Israeli choreographer, Ohad Naharin, the director of the Batsheva Dance Company.  I was fortunate enough to see them, and to hear him speak, when they visited New Zealand in 2014 (see here for what I saw then), so was particularly interested in this film.  Variety magazine called it possibly the most exciting documentary for fans of edgier modern dance since “Pina”, and I couldn’t agree more.  Moreover, I came out wanting to dance every day in my life, somehow, somewhere.  You can see the trailer for it here.

imagesPicture courtesy of DLB

Pilates (again)

I was concentrating so hard, going with the flow, that Saturday’s class passed by so quickly and we were doing our final stretches before I knew it. I love it when classes go like that: nothing else becomes important for that hour.

Smells

A beef in beer stew cooking all afternoon on Saturday, filled the house with warming smells to counteract the cold outside.  A different smell of biscuits baking filled the air, late Sunday afternoon.  Lovely.

Check out Middle Europe’s small pleasures from last week too.

6 Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.