This week’s small pleasures: week 17

I’m posting this week’s small pleasures on a Sunday again, as tomorrow morning I’m off up to Hamilton, and will probably not want to do anything else but eat and sleep when I get home.  Thanks once again to A New Life Wandering for the inspiration.

1  Stopping for tea

Three weeks ago, the bus I usually get to my Pilates class didn’t turn up, making me almost late for class.  I know this might sound slightly crazy, but I am now going for an earlier bus, just to make sure.  This also means I have time for a cup of tea before class.   I pop into a branch of a well known local coffee bar chain, and people watch for 10 minutes.  Whether it is a dad dancing with his little boy to the background music, people enjoying breakfast or conversations in French about the day ahead, there is always something going on.

IMG_8404Morning tea time

2 Time to read

The weather on Saturday was wet and windy, and not a day to be outside, but definitely a day for the sofa, a pot of sakura rose tea and a good book.  I’ve been wanting to spend an afternoon like this for ages.

IMG_8407

Saturday afternoon

3 Desert

The weekend is the time I either bake or make a desert.  This week, it was desert, an apple and pear cobbler, with an orange scented scone topping (recipe adapted from the June-July edition of Dish magazine). Delicious.

IMG_8408

Apple and pear cobbler – and very good it was too

4  Charlie

IMG_8412

I know I’m not supposed to be on the table, but I’m going to sit here anyway

5  Sunday breakfast

I love weekend breakfasts.  There is time to enjoy them, time for extra tea and an opportunity to get some nice bread and enjoy it all while sitting in pyjamas.

IMG_8411IMG_8416

Before and during – using the new butter knife from Designtorget to enjoy some goat cheese on rye, beer and oat bread from Pandoro.

 

6 Sunday cinema

The New Zealand International Film Festival has started, and this afternoon (Sunday) we headed over to Petone to see ‘The Dancer’ (La danseuse), a fictionalised account of the life of Loïe Fuller, the American born pioneer of modern dance and stage set and design.  It was a beautiful film to watch, and the recreation of her dance was excellent (see the original here in a short silent film by the Lumiere brothers from 1897).  There was a considerable amount of artistic licence taken with her life story, but nonetheless it was an enjoyable film.  It was directed by Stéphanie Di Giusto and starred Soko as Fuller and Lily-Rose Depp as a floaty (and rather scheming) Isadora Duncan.

IMG_8418

Outside the cinema

 

11 Comments

  1. I like this idea! Since a day is usually short and insignificant, I can never manage to write daily pleasures. Will sure give this one a try, thank you!

    Like

  2. I loved these! They are things I would absolutely love. Tea and people watching, chill time, cats, dessert, cheese, and ballet. Some of my favourite things. And I love that butter knife!! Have a nice new week!

    Like

  3. Thanks for noting that the film The Dancer takes considerable liberties with Loie Fuller’s life.As the author of the only biography on Loie, I was shocked to learn how very much the script varies from the facts/truth of her life.I am sad that many viewers will not realize that it is fiction and that like Gore Vidal’s novel on Lincoln, it will saddle her with untruths from now on.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment. While there is always a bit of artistic licence taken, I did think the drastic changes to her early life didn’t help the narrative flow – surely how she started as (I understand – please correct me if I am wrong) as a burlesque dancer and in vaudeville would have made ‘good cinema’? I would love to read your book!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.