Six on Saturday 03.07.21

Hello from a what has been lovely, sunny Wellington and on my birthday too! Yes, another year has gone by since the last one. Can I also suggest you look at the date? 3 x 7 = 21. How about that? Or is it just me that thought about it?

Anyway, this week saw an icy cold blast hit New Zealand, with snow on high ground, sleet, hailstones and freezing cold rain. We escaped where we Iive with only rain and hailstones – bad enough of course. However, the last two days may have been cold, but they have been sunny. Anyway, thanks once again to The Propagator for allowing us to share what is going on in our gardens. Check out the participant guide if you want to join in.

To start with the camellias which are looking quite lovely right now. From top to bottom, the white camellia bush covered with buds and flowers, the same white bush with the large bush with the big, blousy flowers behind it, that bush as close as I could get – believe me – the flowers are magnificent. Next, one of the flowers on the bush we share with our neighbour, and finally one of the flowers from the bush at the front of the house. There is another bush at the back which I can’t get to for pictures.

At number two, we have bulb activity all over the place. There is one bowl that seems to be filled with randoms, clear signs of daffodils, no sign of tulips or iris yet, but lots of things popping up, so I should get some wonderful flowers in a while.

At number three, the tecomanthe speciosa or Three Kings Vine that is still flowering, with more buds in evidence. With this and the camellias right now, even a bad day can be turned around.

And so to ‘things that are still growing strong and things that are not looking good’. This is the last bud on the dahlia. Let’s see if it flowers, and if someone can let me know if I need to lift the plant in this climate, that would be great. The pineapple sage, lemon verbena, rosemary and parsley are all looking fine, however the sage, tarragon and one of the thyme plants are looking a little ‘winter sad’ if you know what I mean.

Now to the ‘hello nice to see you again’ corner, the first sign of a lavender flower, and the echinacea, which I cut right back when it last finished flowering. A bit early perhaps, but there you go. Our sheltered spot always surprises.

And to finish, a more seasonal hellebore. Hoping for a decent display again this year – fingers crossed and all that!tec

That is it for me for now – more pictures than words this week. As usual, I am looking forward to seeing everyone’s beautiful gardens in other parts of the world. Hope you are all well and enjoying your gardens in whatever the season is with you. 

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram@thistleandkiwis.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com

44 Comments

  1. I was wondering what the blue flowering tree was in the third photo but it’s the sky! 😂
    You have beautiful colors and a great weather right now. It really doesn’t feel like you’ve had a cold snap these past few days.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy, happy birthday! I expect you had something especially delicious to eat, which perhaps will be shared with us via photos? 😉 I especially liked this line: “With this and the camellias right now, even a bad day can be turned around.” Yes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m now really appreciating, thanks to your post, the nasturtiums. They do make a lovely splash of colour. Meanwhile, your camellias are enhanced by your beautiful, blue sky.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Birthday. You must have a mathematical mind, it never occcurred to me. I love your camellias. But I am baffled that you have dahlias in bloom too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love your plants, and flowers – winter either has plants flourishing or there is sorrow – until spring comes again. Nice and sunny in the North but when you’ve out in it – wind chill, not so nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy birthday for yesterday! Looks like you’re having some lovely weather there! We finally have sunshine here in Sydney this weekend after a miserable few days. Love your garden as always! Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. We pull our dahlias here, but of course, we also get a foot or two of snow plus temperatur4es plunging to well below freezing for much of the winter! Funnily enough, my thyme stays nice and green all winter. Love your camellias!!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. When I grew dahlias I left them in the ground, but then again we lived in Northland so they were ok. Not much if slowering here except my geraniums but the roses are still growing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was given dahlia plants three years ago and, being ignorant of such matters, left them in situ. There was no sign of them in year two. Then this year they came up in the same place and produced beautiful blooms once more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pretty sure it’s colder here than where you are and I leave Dahlias in the ground. They may be more at risk of freezing in a pot. The main problem is slugs when they start to emerge in spring. That white Camellia is a beauty, I’d love to know what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What a gorgeous blue sky! Makes those camellias really stand out. I’m no expert on dahlias, but if you leave it in the pot maybe move it to a sheltered spot if frost is forecast. I tend to leave my thyme plants alone, maybe a trim after flowering to keep them neat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.