Six on Saturday 12.09.20

After a cold week, with lots of rain (including the sort rain that wakes you up at 4am), today was a gloriously sunny day, with bright blue skies and full of the joys of spring. Some of the plants took a bit of a battering, but most are still looking fine. Anyway, thanks once again to  The Propagator for allowing us to share what is going on in our gardens. Check out the participant guide if you want to join in.

So let’s start with one of the symbols of spring, the daffodil. While the early bloomers are well past their best and in need of tidying up, there are still a lot of golden yellow out there. The jonquils survived the stormy weather, and are still looking stunning.

As last week, the crocuses are still popping up, as well as some more blue muscari (still no white but am waiting patiently). Meanwhile, I am sitting with piles of seeds and trying to decide what to do with them all. I have definitely overdone it…and then the New World supermarket chain have started their Little Garden Seeds offer which while designed to get children interested in gardening, also appeals to adults. I have got cauliflower, broccoli, kale and beetroot so far. If anyone has any idea if any of these can be planted in pots let me know!

At number three, the lavender. I checked to see if this was in flower this time last year, and it was, so this is definitely a spring variety. Below you can see a bee with pollen sacks enjoying the flowers.

I couldn’t do a SoS post at the moment without hellebores. Enough said. I noticed that the ajuga is beginning to come into flower while I was round the side of the house, so there might be some of that next week.

So to the herbs, and thriving dill and curry plants, a sage that needs some tender loving care, a rejuvenated echinacea (new shoots!) and mint and parsley to keep me going. I also have a supermarket basil indoors, which is still reasonably perky. I hope I can keep it going and pot it outside – worth a try anyway.

And to end with…another picture of the magnolia against the blue sky, with a few camellias in the background for good measure.

So that’s it for me this week. As usual, I am looking forward to seeing everyone’s beautiful gardens in other parts of the world. Hope you are all well and enjoying your gardens in whatever the season is with you.

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram@thistleandkiwis.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com

28 Comments

  1. Opening a blog to photographs of daffodils comes as a jolt to the senses for me in the northern hemisphere. We have this to look forward to as our summer season is coming to an end.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We haven’t had much rain lately and my roses have been needing water in amongst the sunny days, they seem to be so thirsty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.