Six on Saturday 07.09.19

I missed last week’s SoS as I was enjoying myself in Melbourne, as you might have seen in Monday’s post. It really looks like spring here – the kowhai is in full bloom and being enjoyed by the tui, tulips are blooming in the Botanic Gardens and daffodils are in abundance. We have had mixed weather, as is the norm for the start of spring. Anyway, thanks once again to The Propagator for allowing us to share what is going on in our gardens.

First up, our magnolia, featured at the top of the post and down below. It is absolutely stunning, and such a spectacular display of flowers too.

Magnolia
Another view (and the camellia is also still in bloom)

Next up, the anemones are still looking good, with this white one being the latest one in the garden. I think I may get a few more for next spring as they are quite lovely.

Third, the lavender, which is now looking stunning. I moved the pot with the plant several months ago, and it seems to have done the trick.

The lavender

You can really tell that spring is here, when you start to see the revival of plants that have been dormant: the lemon thyme, lemon balm, tarragon and bergamot. My indoor basil though…well one is fine, one is not showing any signs of life and the third is not looking that good, but still going strong. Looks like I will have to replace at least one of the plants.

The hellebores are still looking beautiful, and I even picked a couple, putting them into warm water as advised. They must be one of my favourite flowers at this time of year.

Hellebores

Finally, spotted this little creature when I moved one of the pots. Hope he found a new home.

A little creature

As usual, I am looking forward to seeing everyone’s beautiful gardens in other parts of the world.

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram@thistleandkiwis.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com

12 Comments

  1. Thank you for sharing the Kowhai link. Of course, I ddid’t know it, even if it reminds me of flowers and shrubs from the same family…
    What a pretty magnolia ! …and this red camellia flower at the bottom…gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.