This week’s small pleasures #49

Another week has already gone, and another week where it was a bit hard to think of small pleasures again, but as usual there were quite a few. First off this Māori proverb that I picked out at a workshop I was at this week.  I really like it – it speaks to me.  And so to some other small pleasures this week.

fullsizeoutput_313

A silk shirt

I really shouldn’t be buying any more clothes, but to paraphrase Marie Kondo, if it brings you joy, then buy it…and this silk top from Jac and Jack is just one of those things that brings me joy.  I put it on and it screamed ‘buy me’.

IMG_0946
Silk top

Fruits of the season

Apples, pears, oranges, persimmons, passion fruit feijoas, tamarillos – I really love these colours all put together in one blue bowl as you can see in the featured image at the top of the post.  Or put together with yoghurt for a breakfast treat.

IMG_0416
Passion fruit and coconut yoghurt

Eurovision Song Contest

OK – I never, ever thought I would ever put this event into a small pleasures post, but this year’s winner from Portugal is lovely and a stark contrast to the usual songs that come complete with flames, wolves, horses heads, gorillas, singing grannies, drums, yodelling, mock operatic style….whatever takes your fancy.  The competition was the usual mix but this year there were a few songs that had no embellishment or gimmicks, and this was one of them.  While music is a very personal thing, and we all have our own tastes, I was shocked by a few people writing on social media how much they hated the winning song.  Clearly the no flames, drums or outlandish costumes didn’t appeal to everyone.  Here it is  so you can decide for yourself.  As he said on being awarded the prize: “We live in a world of fast food music. This is a victory for music… music isn’t fireworks, music is feeling.”

This week’s flowers

I’m not usually keen on bunches of miniature roses, but these ones looked so nice.

IMG_0943
Pale pink roses

Home made minestrone soup

Use chorizo and courgettes as they were in the fridge, and some lovely little pasta shapes and cannelloni beans.  See frugal feeding for inspiration.

IMG_0947
Enter a caption

Thanks to Mani over at A New Life Wandering for the original idea.

Check out Middle Europe‘s small pleasures too, and also Whimsey Pie.

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram @blof678.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com.

4 Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.