Watching, listening, reading: September

Could somebody please tell me where September has gone?  I’m sure I was commenting on the first day of spring just yesterday.  Anyway, here we are with this month’s round up of media consumption.

Watching

I managed one trip to the cinema Kedi a couple of weeks ago as I mentioned in this post here. It is a lovely film – but only if you like cats a lot!

Being at home a lot this month meant a lot of Netflix. I mentioned two films I really enjoyed at the start of the month Haute Cuisine (the story of Danièle Delpeuch and how she was appointed as the private chef for François Mitterrand), and Blue Jay (about two high-school sweethearts who meet up again by chance in their home town) in a small pleasures post – I can highly recommend them both.

Also thanks to Netflix I watched The Hippopotamus, based on the Stephen Fry novel, which I really enjoyed, though it hasn’t had great reviews, the 2005 version of Bewitchedwhich was so much better than I expected, and the 2016 coming of age comedy Carrie Pilby, which was quite good, though the central character seemed to have a lot of money for her circumstances.  Anyway, three films that are perfect for sofa watching with a pot of tea.  I also caught Iris, the documentary about the wonderful Iris Apfel.    

I struggled to find a good series – recommendations welcome – though did watch the first two series of the reasonably good Granite Flats.  Oh I wish there was a replacement for Gilmore Girls!

t-iris-apfel-bruce-weber-cop
Iris Apfel – picture from this article in Vanity Fair
Listening

This months podcasts include the delightful the mustards, BBC World Service’s The Food Chain, How I Built This with Guy Raz and of course The Moth, Cherry Bomb and The Archers.  I can also recommend David Baddiel Tries to Understand for 15 minute bites of podcast from the BBC, which is fun and informative.

This month’s song is Ásgeir’s King and Cross.  Love it.

Reading

I didn’t get as much read as intended.  My plan was to read Paul Auster’s 4321 while Karl was away, but it is such a heavy book, so no good for bedtime reading!  Instead I picked up Haruki Murakami’s short stories Men Without Women, which were typical Murakami and a good read.  One Sunday, I spent the day reading Nicola Moriarty’s The Fifth Letter, which was light, easy reading fiction for a tea and sofa day.  I also enjoyed Elizabeth David’s essays on food, An Omelette and a Glass of Wine, especially her descriptions of meals and how the food was prepared.

fullsizeoutput_40a
Murakami
IMG_1861
An Omelette and a Glass of Wine

As to magazines, I picked up Drift, which was all about coffee shops in Melbourne in the current issue.  I got around to reading most of Cherry Bombe magazine, with a big article about Martha Stewart, and bought the autumn edition of Kinfolk in Melbourne, for a lot less than I would have paid here in Wellington. I have still to read it, so will review it next month.

IMG_1846
Drift

Have you watched, listened to or read anything good recently?  Let me know!

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram @thistleandkiwis.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

