Rest and renew (or what to do when you are off sick and need cheering up)

I have no idea what bug has hit me, but it has laid me low the past few days.  Headaches, a strong desire for two hour naps, and a general feeling of weakness have plagued me since the end of last week.  There is nothing to do, of course, but give in to it, which I am so bad a doing.  Just because I am at home, doesn’t mean I have to clean out cupboards and tidy up – I am allowed to spend a couple of hours watching endless clips on YouTube or dozing through a podcast.

But there are some things you can do to make yourself feel better.  If you are up to it, go for a walk, but that isn’t always possible, and when that is the case then turn to the luxuries you can find indoors.

fullsizeoutput_411
Morning tea

 

Have breakfast in bed

Now, this might mean in my case going downstairs, making tea and toast and carrying it back up again, but it is worth it.  Indulge yourself. Put on a podcast and ignore the news, put something different on your toast, breathe in the fresh citrus smell of a grapefruit, indulge yourself.

fullsizeoutput_410
A grapefruit, some fig and walnut wine preserve and fresh mint

 

Listen, watch, read

As much as I enjoy reading, I don’t enjoy reading with a headache, so I turned to podcasts.  But of course you have to pick the right ones for the mood you are in, ones to cheer you up of make me feel cosy.  My current favourites are the mustards and The Moth, and of course BBC Radio 4 series like Fags, Mags and Bags that has me laughing out loud. It is also a time to rewatch old favourites.  For me, that means Black Books and anything with Doris Day or a good rom-com. And when you are ready to read, pick up a magazine or old favourite book to re-read.

Tiny luxuries

Take a long shower or bath, spritz on a favourite warming perfume, make a pot of refreshing tea such as Manchuria Mango green tea from TleafT.  Indulge in few things that will make you feel good.

IMG_1765

Eat

Tune in to your body and listen to what it tells you to eat.  Hopefully it will say vegetables and fruit, but it may crave crisps and chocolate.  Roasted kumara and carrots, topped with feta, a tahini based dressing, orange capsicum and rocket hit the spot the other day, and a vegan bowl made an excellent lunch.

IMG_0577
Roasted veg
IMG_1768
A vegan bowl – freekeh, black beans, rocket, carrots, cucumber, hummous, mint, seeds and lemon juice

Accept your situation

“Every person needs to take one day away.  A day in which one consciously separates the past from the future.  Jobs, family, employers, and friends can exist one day without any one of us, and if our egos permit us to confess, they could exist eternally in our absence.  Each person deserves a day away in which no problems are confronted, no solutions searched for.  Each of us needs to withdraw from the cares which will not withdraw from us.”
Maya Angelou, Wouldn’t Take Nothing for My Journey Now

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram @blof678.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com

2 Comments

  1. With autumn here I’m afraid of catching a cold, omg. But in case this will happen, I’ll follow your advice.

    I wish you a speedy recovery! xx

Leave a Reply

