Soup of the evening, beautiful soup!

With Karl away, I’ve decided to eat mostly plants.  I’ve still got some buttermilk, eggs and feta to use, and treated myself to some Zany Zeus halloumi, so am not going totally vegan this week (plus I went to a work meeting where the only things to eat for lunch were sandwiches with meat…).  However, I am only going to cook and eat vegetarian at home.

I stocked up this weekend on a few things such as peanut butter and almond butter for breakfast, mushrooms, lemons and grapefruit, spinach, halloumi and those wonderful tamari roasted sunflower seeds that make such a good topping for salads.  I also got some different vegan cheese to try (review coming up) and yeast flakes.  Yes folks – I am taking this seriously!

IMG_1678

For Monday’s dinner (with left overs for Wednesday) I made soup with the Ancient Grains mix above, which contains quinoa, buckwheat, amaranth and lentils with bits of sundried tomatoes.  You can see what it looks like in the featured image at the top of the post.

For the soup, I fried off an onion, added a carrot and chopped up half a dozen baby turnips that were lying at the bottom of the vegetable drawer in the fridge. I used one cup of the ancient grain mix to about 4-5 cups of vegetable stock (from a cube…).  The packet said only one cup was necessary, which was really peculiar, unless that is, you wanted a sort of stew.

fullsizeoutput_402
The vegetables

Before serving, I added a good bunch of spinach leaves for both colour and vitamins. The sun dried tomatoes also added colour as they rehydrated.

IMG_1711
Monday soup

I made myself a toasted ‘cheese’ sandwich to have with it, using Vogel‘s soy and linseed toast bread and dairy free ‘Swiss style’ cheese, that actually melted (as I mentioned above, a review of this is coming up).

IMG_1714
A toasted ‘cheese’ sandwich

 

 

Verdict: really nice soup after work on a wet day.  The sandwich was really so much better than I expected.

What is your favourite soup?

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram @blof678.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com

*Title of post from the poem Turtle Soup in Alice in Wonderland

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

