The taste test #1

Some of you may remember I experimented with beetroot back in April.  It’s not a vegetable I like, but thought it might be worth trying again with some roasted baby beetroots.  The verdict at the time was that they were all right, but not something I could eat a lot of or that often.

Anyway, as you may have spotted in last week’s shopping basket, there were two little beetroots in my packet of root vegetables.  One was red and one golden, so I was interested to see how I got on with them.  I tossed the mini carrots, turnips and beetroots in olive oil and roasted them for I guess around 25 minutes at 180C.  Actually, you just need to test them to see if they are done and roasted to your own liking.  Then came the tasting…I took a bit of the golden beetroot and was so shocked and surprised as to how good it was!  Not nearly as earthy as red ones, just sweet and tasty.  In fact, I enjoyed them so much that I bought a few today as I spotted them in Commonsense Organics.

fullsizeoutput_3a1
Golden beetroot

The red one was in my lunch time salad the next day, and I actually enjoyed that (a bit) too.  Is this me on the road to converting to liking beetroot?  Let’s see…

I ate the roasted vegetables with edamame and mung bean fettuccine, wilted red chard and halloumi.  You can tell I am cooking for myself when dinner ends up like this!  The pasta, by the way, was really good, and being full of protein, really fills you up without feeling heavy.

IMG_1439
Fettucine…kind of…

Apologies for the lighting in the photographs….that’s what happens when you are inspired and have a cat demanding treats at your feet.

fullsizeoutput_3a4
Feed me!

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram @blof678.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

