Watching, listening, reading: April

Here we are again with this month’s round up of what I have been watching, listening to and reading this month.

Watching

With being off sick, I managed to finish all seven series of The Gilmore Girls – hooray!  I’ve also got through Winter and Spring of A Year in the Life.  What am I going to do when  I have got through the other two episodes?  Suggestions welcome!

I also watched too many episodes of Death in Paradise, of which I have had quite enough for a wee while. With Karl back, we watched the final two episodes of Broadchurch, with a good and slightly surprising ending.  The current series of Line of Duty continue to takes twists and turns, and we also caught up on Designated Survivor which we are still watching.

gilmore-girls-befa2363-6f7b-4a68-a37f-17e99fd3513c

Listening

Favourite podcasts are pretty much the same: The Moth, A Taste of the Past, Radio Cherry Bombe, 99% Invisible, Design Matters with Debbie Millman and…Rhod Gilbert’s Best Bits.

Music…loving Beady Belle’s When My Anger Starts to Cry right now, and re-found Nujabes The Sign on an old playlist, which I can listen to again and again.

fullsizeoutput_305

Reading

Again, being sick has meant not reading anything too serious – another Edmund Crispin (Swan Song – hilarious detective fiction from 1947), another in the series about the florist detective, written by Kate Collins, and Hannah Hart’s memoirs, Buffering, which I recommend if you want to know more about the creator of My Drunk Kitchen and her life up until now.  She had a difficult time growing up, and has made so much of her life.

The new edition of Frankie is out, and waiting to be read, and I am really enjoying the short stories by Lucia Berlin in a collection, A Manual for Cleaning Women.  Each story is perfectly crafted, and quite evocative.

 

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram @blof678.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

