Give every day the chance to become the most beautiful day of your life

It’s 7:30am and I am sitting in bed, listening to Prince Street, having already had toast with almond butter and lemon curd and two cups of tea.  Oh and two feijoas.  I’ve been awake since 5:30am, which sounds early, but I went to bed at 9pm last night.  Yes folks, I am sick.  I have a humdinger of a cold or something that causes my sinuses to ache, my bones to feel weary and a strong desire to do nothing but lie on the sofa and watch easy watching detective series like Death in Paradise.

I wrote that this morning, and did indeed spend the day feeling rotten.  Enough energy was found to make some soup, from lentils, cabbage and carrot, a bay leaf or two and a good vegetable stock.  Red lentils are so quick to cook too, so an easy throw together soup for an autumn day when you are feeling poorly.

IMG_0689
Red lentils

Searching on Pinterest for ideas for edible flowers, I stumbled across Martha Stewart’s goat’s cheese with edible flowers.  Mine of course did not look nearly as pretty, but it was a great way to use up some of the tangy and flavoursome flowers and then decorate the bowl with petals.

IMG_0691

IMG_0376

IMG_0378

And so lunch was served, warm soup and elegant cheese..  As the evening draws on, and the skies darken, I’m withdrawing back to the sofa for more Caribbean murder and tea.  Just what the doctor ordered.  Not sure it was the most beautiful day of my life, but not as bad as it could have been.

Title of post: Mark Twain.

You can find Thistles and Kiwis on Facebook, and also on Instagram @blof678.  As for Twitter….am totally inactive these days.  If you want to get in touch, email me on thistlesandkiwis@gmail.com.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

