The table must not be served with too many good things…

It’s already Sunday evening here in New Zealand, and it’s been a funny week in one way or another – back to work, some almost autumnal days but also proper sunny days, almost back into a normal rhythm, but not quite (next Monday is a holiday) and so on.  It’s been good to do a couple of barre classes and Pilates, but with the holiday weekend coming up, I haven’t even got my exercise into a proper schedule yet.

It was also a week where I seemed to read so many negative things, not just in the news, but also in the blogosphere and elsewhere on social media.  When a (non) news story and blog post causes such vitriolic comments that the police are called or when a blogger just gets tired of dealing with trite remarks, then it makes you stop and wonder what is going on in our on-line worlds.

Anyway, I’m sure, like me, you’ve seen those posts ‘what I eat in a day’ on various blogs or YouTube channels.  With the exception of Anna at The Anna Edit, who always confesses to a sweet tooth and a love of Miniature Heroes, there seems to be a distinct lack of what I would call proper food in many of these posts, and never a glass of wine.  As one comment on one such post said ‘does no-one eat toast over the sink ‘cos they are late for work?’

So, here is what we ate today.  With it being Sunday, we have time to have a bit more than a rushed piece of toast for breakfast.  Today, we had some sourdough bread from Pandoro.  The apricots and nectarines from last week had to be eaten before they went off, so I chopped them up and put some on top of non-dairy cream cheese (which is just not the same as the ‘real’ stuff I can say), instead of jam.

img_9975
Apricot sandwich

So far so Instagram worthy….and then came lunch….a sausage roll from the supermarket, and lovely it was too, especially with a little aubergine pickle made by our neighbour (because I had to have something with it to redeem myself).

And dinner…a burger. Well, a homemade one served with caramlised onions.  My dear husband could live on burgers, gourmet or otherwise, so he was quite content with my proposition for dinner, Beef and Blue Cheese Burgers with Pomegranate Glazed Onions from the February-March edition of Dish magazine.

The burgers themselves were made from beef mince, rosemary, blue cheese (I used Over The Moon’s Creamy Blue) a dash of Worcestershire sauce and American mustard.  I halved the quantities for the onions, given I was feeding two, but still ended up with a good quantity. I also missed out the chilli flakes because we had fish tacos the day before and I knew I would regret anything more spicy. The original recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of olive oil and a knob of butter to be heated in a large pan for which you have a lid (my words).  Add 5 onions, a good couple of teaspoons of fresh rosemary and a good grind of pepper.  Cover and cook until the onions are soft and translucent.  Uncover, and add 1/4 cup pomegranate molasses, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 2 teaspoons soy sauce, 2 cloves crushed garlic, 2 teaspoons wholegrain mustard (and a 1/4 teaspoon – exactly – of chilli flakes).  The recipe also suggested salt, but I have to say with the soy sauce I didn’t think the salt was necessary.  Cook for a further 15 minutes or until the onions are caramalised.  Can be reheated if made ahead.

img_9984
Cooking onions

And yes there was salad, and yes there were buns, and yes there was desert, which was a small bowl of blueberries.  And yes, there was chocolate, for after all no ‘what I ate in a day’ post could be complete without.  Of course, it was none of your Cadbury’s Dairy Milk, since this is a blog post, but Cacao Nibs and Sea Salt from the Wellington Chocolate Factory.  This bar was created to celebrate the 25th anniversary of Common Sense Organics (which I wrote about here) and which you can read the story about on their blog page.

img_9980
Chocolate, just because

And yes, just so you know, we did enjoy a nice glass of wine too.  May your week ahead be a good one.

 

Title of the post: “The table must not be served with too many good things, lest they induce lethargy, nor yet must the tired worked arise hungry and unrefreshed”  Agnes Jekyll from “A Little Dinner Before The Play” in Kitchen Essays (1922).  In other words, second helpings should be avoided, but man cannot live by smoothie alone.

*Cups are New Zealand/Australian ones.

Postscript: verdict on dinner – the burgers were really good but extremely rich, the onions were a perfect match and the chocolate, dark and bitter, just how I like it.  Very glad I have a barre class tomorrow.

 

4 Comments

  1. I have never had apricots that weren’t dried! I bet they’re good too. Dried apricots are prob my fav dried fruits – oh & dried mango! – but now I want to try the fresh ones :)) And that chocolate bar sounds so good — I love dark chocolate, and after eating it for so long, milk chocolate is almost too milky! lol it’s so weird how our tastebuds change after a while of training them a certain way. Also, Good luck on that barre class ;))

  2. Fresh apricots have the same ‘furry’ skin as peaches. So good – you should try them if you get a chance. The chocolate was really good but so rich! And yes you are right about how our taste buds change. Thanks re luck and barre!

  3. I love apricots. I’ll have to wait for summer to get some fresh, but they’re worth the wait. The burger sounds really good. 🙂

  4. I’ve had some particularly good apricots this year so far. Still some of the season to go! The burger was good although might put a little less blue cheese in next time!

Leave a Reply

