The odds of going to the store for a loaf of bread and coming out with only a loaf of bread are three billion to one

On Saturday morning, with a little time so spend before Pilates, I wandered into Commonsense Organics on Wakefield Street.  I wasn’t looking for anything in particular, just going in for a browse and to maybe pick up a few things.  Every time I go into this shop, or any similar wholefoods type store, there is the same smell – you’ll probably know what I am talking about – that mix of spices, vegetables, baked goods, grains, dried fruits which immediately tells you what sort of shop you are in. Your senses also have to take in the vibrant colours of the packets of tea, the range of juices and all the little bottles and tubes of herbal cosmetics.  I love these shops and always want to spend ages looking around and come out with lots of things I don’t always know what to do with.

img_9354
The entrance – plants for sale and a bench to sit on
img_9353
25 years old

This time I bought some smoked tofu which I haven’t seen or had for ages, a bunch of golden chard (because it looked so pretty), some more of that organic popcorn and naturally one thing I don’t know what to do with, namely the black bean spaghetti.  I guess I’ll make a really good garlicky tomato sauce to pour on top.  If anyone out there has tried this type of ‘pasta’ then do let me know.

img_9356
Mini haul

But man cannot live on tofu alone, and so after Pilates it was time for our usual Saturday morning treat shopping in Moore Wilson: this season’s wonderful asparagus, early tomatoes, baby carrots, bread for breakfast, sausages and ‘crackerbreads’. These  delicious morsels were available for tasting, and to say they were moreish is an understatement.  Plus we couldn’t resist the name, Lines knækbrød.  The rosemary/sea salt one is fantastic and as for the beer crackers ( made with spent grain from Hallertau and some of their Copper Tart Red Ale)….well let’s just say a small taste was not enough and we had to buy the packet.

img_9358
Knækbrød

The larder is now bursting at the seams, the fridge packed tight with food for the week, and yet there was one thing I forgot to buy…or was it deliberate so that I could browse the aisles and buy yet more little packets and jars, full of goodness?  That is for you to decide.

*The title is a quote from Erma Bombeck, who obviously was a woman after my own heart when it comes to food shopping.

4 Comments

  1. Hee hee – that’s me! I go in with a list but ALWAYS seem to end up seeing something I either forgot to put on the list, know we need anyway or it just looks yummy (like your bread here)…I gave up trying. The thing that bothers me most is the rising costs. Used to be (not all that long ago) I could shop and get a lot for under $100 – now I am lucky if that same amount of food stays under $300 – sad but true?! Nice article!!

Leave a Reply

