Game of Scones

After my last scone success of cardamom marmalade scones, and with some buttermilk in the fridge, my Saturday baking was screaming ‘scones!’ at me again.  After a tidy up of the freezer, and the discovery of a small pile of raspberries, I thought it was time to make some raspberry coconut scones, an idea that had been on my scone to do list (yes, I do have one – well, not really – but I do have a list of baking ideas) for a wee while.

To be honest, I had my doubts about how they would work out, given the soggy nature of the raspberries adding more liquid to the mixture, but thought if I dusted them in flour, it would help. Anyway, this is what I did…

img_9299
Close up of a finished scone

Preheat the oven to 200C and lightly grease a baking tray.  Put 200g of self-raising flour, 25g desiccated coconut and a pinch of salt into a bowl.  Rub in 50g butter and and rub in with your fingertips until the texture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Add in 25g light brown sugar, then pour in 100ml of buttermilk.  Mix until the mixture has almost come together, then add 50g frozen raspberries dusted in flour, the stir carefully.  Tip the mixture onto a floured work surface and knead the dough a little to bring it together. Don’t overwork or the scones will be heavy. Cut out the scones using a scone cutter (or if you don’t have one, a small glass or cup will do), brush with milk and bake for 15 minutes until golden.  Cool on a wire rack.

img_9302
Another picture of a scone

Verdict: As predicted, the mixture was very wet and so the scones didn’t rise as much as they should have done.  The taste was more of coconut rather than raspberry, but they were still tasty.

Do again?  Hmmm…..probably not.  Think I would rather add lashings of raspberry jam to a plain scone.

Leave a Reply

