A rather flat result…or why baking powder is important

Imagine…..it is Saturday afternoon, and the smell of baking fills the air.  The sun is shining, and we go outside and sit with a cup of tea.  Suddenly, the mood changes as a horrific thought fills my mind – I forgot to put the baking powder into the cake mix.  Thoughts of a flat cake, perhaps inedible, come to mind.  I blame my forgetfulness on being tired, having woken up at 5:30 by the combination of some very loud tuis and blackbirds and a hungry cat.  And a really difficult challenging Pilates class.

So what was the cake?  Well, on Friday, I gave my husband Annabel Langbein’s Celebrate Summer magazine and asked him to select a main dish for Sunday and some baking for me to do on Saturday.  He chose the Chocolate Chippy Cake for my baking project, which looked nice, easy and a problem free cake.  Well, it should have been, but for some reason, even though the large tub of baking powder was right under my nose, I forgot to put some into the mixture.  I have no idea what I was thinking, but clearly my mind was elsewhere.

img_9209
The missing ingredient

The cake came out of the oven and from the top looked good.  From the side, not so good as one would expect.

img_9221
The cake

The recipe:

Preheat the oven to 160C and line a 23cm round cake tin with baking paper.  Beat 200g butter and 1 cup (NZ/Aus cup) caster sugar until pale and creamy.  Beat in 3 eggs, one at a time, then add 1/2 cup natural yoghurt and 2 teaspoons vanilla extract and mix well.  Fold in 2 cups of flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder and about a cup of chocolate chips until evenly combined.

Pour the mixture into the tin and bake for about 50 minutes until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.  The recipe suggests an icing, but I’m not keen on icing, believing cake is sweet enough.

The verdict:

Taste – lovely.  Texture – you can imagine if you are a baker.  Do again? Yes but I would remember the baking powder.

Today’s lesson:

No matter how hard a Pilates class, cake making requires full attention 🙂

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

