Cee’s Share Your World Challenge: Week 42

It’s Tuesday evening here in New Zealand, so time to think about Cee’s Challenge for this week.  I read the questions when I wake up in the morning so have all day to think about them.  Sometimes this helps, sometimes it doesn’t!

Anyway, time for the challenge questions this week.

If you wanted to de-clutter where you live, what room / space would you start with?  (And why, if you’re feel like admitting to it.)

Actually, all our rooms need de-cluttering so this was a hard one!  Our books need sorting, we have a whole pile of old CDs and DVDs, our ‘study’ is more of a store room and as for my food magazines…..so I’m going to go for the bedroom.  I periodically do a sweep, but there are no go areas such as the under the bed storage that I should tackle.  Maybe this weekend would be a good time to start as it is Labour Day weekend here and Monday is a holiday?

IMG_5669
Looking at my house you would never know I had read this

If you want to remember something important, how do you do it (sticky note on the fridge, string around your finger, etc.), and does it work?

Post-it note on the fridge.

If you could create a one room retreat just for yourself, what would be the most important sense to emphasize:  sight (bright natural light, dim light, etc.), hearing (silence, music, fountain, etc.), smell (candles, incense, etc), touch (wood, stone, soft fabrics, etc.), or taste (herbal tea, fresh fruit, etc.)?

Definitely bright, natural light.  Textures and colours are important too and always a choice of good and different teas.

If you could interview one of your great-great-great grandparents, who would it be (if you know their name) and what would you ask?

I actually have a photograph of my great-great grandfather, but would like to interview my great-grandfather on my mother’s side of the family who was quite an entrepreneur, owning a business making fireproof paint.  He travelled to pre-revolutionary Russia and I still have a bunch of letters he wrote home to his wife in England from there.  I’m sure he would have had lots of fascinating stories and he seemed to have a good sense of humour too.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week,

This was a tough one as last week wasn’t particularly good, though as I discovered when writing my last blog post on This Week’s Small Pleasures, there were some nice things going on.  I am most grateful that my frozen shoulder has suddenly made a huge improvement and given me a much better range of movement.

img_9158
Sunday at Lake Ferry

and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

The long weekend!  I intend to bake, read, perhaps go on a day trip…and maybe even clear up some clutter….

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

