Watching, listening, reading: September

Here we are again with a round up of what I’ve been watching, listening to and reading during September.

Watching

We had no opportunity to get to the cinema, which was a pity as there were quite a few things I would have like to have seen – maybe October? The small screen, though, has kept us occupied.  I quite enjoyed Absolutely Fashion on BBC about British Vogue’s 100th birthday. It was filmed over a nine month period, and gave a bit of an insight into life behind the pages.  I found the commentator a little annoying at times, but it was a really interesting documentary all the same.

We’ve also been enjoying the latest episodes of the long running series Beck (the first series was in 1997) being shown on BBC at the moment.  With Karl away, I watched the drama set in a fictional ballet company, Flesh and Bone. Captivating yet the biggest load of rubbish ever – totally unrealistic portrayal of the life of dancers, but a great story.  Side note: the choreography was by Ethan Stiefel who used to be artistic director of the Royal New Zealand Ballet.

Flesh and Bone

Ridiculous and compelling at the same time – Flesh and Bone*

Listening

As a fan of BBC’s long running radio soap opera, The Archers, I’ve been gripped by the trial of Helen Archer (accused of stabbing her husband with intent to kill, after months of abuse – very intense) and it’s aftermath.  If you aren’t a fan you won’t have a clue what I am talking about.  If you want to know more about it, check the website here.

Other than that, in terms of podcasts, I’ve been enjoying some of the interviews on Longform and still keeping sane in the office with TED Radio Hour, 99% Invisible and The New Yorker Radio Hour.  I’ve also recently subscribed to Invisibilia and am enjoying what I have heard so far.

I’ve also been re-listening to the original radio series of  Flight of the Conchords.  Follow the link to  Business Time for your amusement.  Sticking with New Zealand, Thursday saw the 2016 APRA awards for New Zealand musicians, with the top award going to Wellington born singer-songwriter Thomas Oliver If I Move To MarsYou can listen to it here and watch the video.

img_8844

Biography time

Reading

I finished and loved Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, and have another of her books sitting in my pile.  I wasn’t quite so enamoured with Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop, that started well and dragged towards the end, but laughed my way through the hilarious 1930s novel, The Brandons, by Angela Thirkell.  It’s a very well observed social comedy of manners, with some larger than life characters.  As I type, I am getting through a biography of the designer Elsa Schiaparelli which is proving interesting.  I picked up Flow for a new magazine this month, but haven’t yet had a chance to look at it.
And oh yes…there was a detective novel…Donna Leon’s By Its Cover which I might have finished on the flight home from Auckland today if I had not had a fascinating conversation with the passenger next to me about education, rugby and life in Wellington.

img_9019

Flow magazine

 *Photo from http://wegotthiscovered.com/tv/flesh-bone-review/

Leave a Reply

