If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea we would be sitting in the upstairs lounge sipping Pina Colada green tea from TleafT.

IMG_7804Tea in a mug from the University of Edinburgh, my alma matar

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea I would tell you that last night I went to the New Zealand School of Dance Choreographic Season.  This is when the third year contemporary dance students create their own dance works for themselves and others in the school.  This year’s evening was called Scope, and featured ten short works, which blended seamlessly together.  I would tell you that I thought it probably the best season I have seen yet from the school, and thought the lighting by students from Toi Whakaari (New Zealand Drama School) was also excellent.  It is nice to see the nurturing of new, young talent in this way, and I would tell you to go and get a ticket (it’s on until 28th May).

IMG_7803Scope

If we were having coffee, or even a cup of tea, I would tell you I was off to see some more dance tonight – The New Zealand Dance Company – and how I did my Thursday Pilates class with two of the dancers from the company.

If we were having coffee or even a cup of tea, talk would naturally turn to the weather, with autumn making itself felt.  Today, however, the sun has been out, which we agree always makes life better.

IMG_7788Early Saturday morning – flowers by the terrace

If we were having coffee, or even a cup of tea, we would talk about shopping, about the two lovely soft sweaters I got in Lululemon, a pale grey one with a draped back and a dark grey cashmere mix hoodie that I feel will be perfect for our forthcoming trip.  I also bought some laceups by Rollie from Kilt that I also hope will be useful in the weeks to come.

IMG_7806 IMG_7810

Shopping ’till I’m dropping

If we were having a coffee…or even a cup of tea, we would talk about food and cooking as usual, about the fruits of the season, the pears, persimmons, passion fruit, apples and feijoas, and their wonderful colours and shapes.

IMG_7790Fruits of every hue

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea, I would tell you that we tried a horned melon or kiwano.  The colour and shape is fantastic, the taste a bit like a cross between a cucumber and a melon, and in my opinion, nicer to look at than eat.

IMG_7727

A horned melon – one of its many names – outside and inside

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

If we were having coffee…or even a cup tea, I would tell you that we are having an early dinner of fish tacos, and that you were welcome to join us.  You reply yes, that would be nice, so we clear away the tea things and consider the evening ahead.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

