If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea, I would pour you a cup made from tea from my favourite tea shop in Wellington (that I don’t visit often enough), t leaf T.  The tea is a pina colada green tea (yes really), which has, as you would expect, a fruity pineapple and coconut aroma and flavour.

IMG_7287

Pina colada green tea in the tin…

IMG_7311

…and in the cup

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of pina colada green tea, I would tell you that I had a day off work yesterday, and was full of plans, but because I felt so awful, I did very little, and even missed a dance performance in the evening.  But that today after an early night and a good night’s sleep, I am feeling a little better, and definitely up for a gossip.

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of pina colada green tea, we would joke about how avocado on toast has ‘become a thing’.  You tell me that there are even lists of where to get the best avo on toast in New York.  I would then confess that for lunch yesterday I had tomato and avocado on toast (Vogel’s bread of course).

IMG_7280Tomato and avocado on toast for lunch

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of pina colada green tea, I would ask you what you were doing for Easter.  I would also ask you if you had seen Whittaker’s chocolate kiwi brought out for Easter 2016, and what a great idea I thought it was.

IMG_7293A kiwi hiding in the rosemary bush!

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of pina colada green tea, we would talk about the weather, and how the first signs of autumn are here, with cooler mornings and evenings, though today it is still warm enough to sit outside in the sunshine.

IMG_6987Summer-Autumn

If we were having coffee…or even a cup of pina colada green tea, as usual, I would ask you if you wanted to stay to dinner, you hesitate, but when I say desert is apple and rhubarb crumble*, you decide to stay.

IMG_7309Time to make a crumble!

*  Wash and slice rhubarb into small chunks, add a little water, brown sugar and ginger and cook to a pulp.  Depending on your apples, cook them too or just chop up small and mix through the rhubarb.  They are more ‘chunky’ and with a bite if you do them this way.  Top with a crumble mix of 225g flour, 150g brown sugar and 75g of butter, rubbing the butter into the flour until it resembles crumbs, then stirring in the sugar.  Pour fruit into an oven proof container, top with crumble and bake at 180C for 35 to 40 minutes.  Lovely served hot with ice-cream, or custard if you prefer.

4 Comments

  1. I love t Leaf T! I haven’t tried the Pina Colada one, but I had a cup of the Jasmine tea tonight. That’s one of my favourites along with Earl Grey Blue Flower. 🙂

  2. Wonderful Tea share 🙂 sorry you feel under the weather and I hope you recover soon. I love rhubarb! My grandmother always grew it in her garden and we would pick it, wash it off and just eat it.. sour and all 😀 Our neighbor always made us pies with strawberries and rhubarb. Thanks for bring back some pleasant memories for me 🙂 Have a great week!

  3. Thank you! There is something about rhubarb – it always looks so lovely and demands to be eaten I think. Feeling much better now thanks and hope you also have a great week!

Leave a Reply

