Cee’s Challenge: Week 9

Cee’s Challenge Week 9.  Today is the 1st March, and officially the first day of autumn.  Certainly, there has been a chill in the air with southerlies blowing from Antarctica, though the forecast ahead looks fine.  In Wellington, it has been one of the warmest Februarys since records began.

IMG_7009

Wellington in February

Have you done something you truly want to do today?

No, but I did go for a massage after work which was lovely.

What can you help the world with?

I don’t know.  I used to teach, so could do that again.

If life was ‘just a bowl of cherries’… which fruit other than a cherry would you be..?

A raspberry.  Or a bowl of plums.

IMG_6853

Apricots, cherries, plums

Quotes List: At least three of your favorite quotes?

“I believe in growing old disgracefully and intend to run my stick along the public railings
and make up for the sobriety of my youth” (from Warning by Jenny Joseph).

“Crabbie’s Green Ginger Wine, those wonderful evocative words, balm to the troubled Edinburgh soul, metaphorical oil upon metaphorically troubled waters! And redolent of everything quintessentially Edinburgh: slightly sharp, slightly disapproving, slightly superior” (one of the 44 Scotland Street series, Alexander McCall Smith).

The third one was hard….something that a friend said or a lines from WH Auden’s poem ‘As I Walked Out One Evening’. Actually, I love that poem, (follow the link) so it would be the whole thing, so I’m going with:

“when I was a kid, I had imaginary friends… But one day, I had a fight with them, and killed em all… not joking, true story… I was 5 or 6…”  my good friend Lucas.

IMG_5762Wise words

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week,

Seeing some glorious dance on Saturday evening – read about it in my last post – here.

and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

The weekend plus one day: comedy night on Thursday, drinks with friends Friday, Newtown Street Fair on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

