Friday: 6 things this week

Yes it’s Friday, and I have the day off work!  Hoorah!  In my last post I mentioned how dry it had been here, but since then we have had rain, and quite a bit last night (along with wind), so much so that we now have a leak in our bathroom ceiling.  Great fun…but hopefully a few dry days to come will at least stop it getting any worse.  Anyway, here’s a review of the week so far.

IMG_7168After the summer rain

1  Baking time

We had another bake sale fund raising at work this week, and my contribution was a banana loaf.  I made two, one for work and one for home.  I guess the bananas weren’t ripe enough as it wasn’t very banana-y, but it was a lovely moist and light loaf.  Anyway, I used this recipe from the Kiwi classic, the Edmonds Cookery Book.  Measurements are in NZ/Australian cups (conversion chart can be found here).

Heat the oven to 180C and grease and line a 22cm loaf tin.  Sift together 1 3/4 (one and three quarters) cup self raising flour, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Mix in 1/2 cup sugar.  Beat together 2 eggs and 1/4 cup milk, then stir this in to the dry mix along with 75g melted butter and 1 cup mashed banana.  Stir until just combined and spoon into the prepared loaf tin.  Bake for 45-55 minutes (mine were done in 45), and leave in the tin for 10 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool.

IMG_7124

Banana loaves, cooling

I took in some Lewis Road Creamery butter to spread on it.  For those of you outside New Zealand, this is a premium brand, which not only makes butter, but a few months ago came up with a chocolate milk that people were fighting over in the shops.  They’ve recently launched an ice-cream.

IMG_7134Good butter…

IMG_7180

…spread on banana bread

2 Visitors

We actually had visitors from Scotland!  The sister and husband of one of my oldest school friends were in town for a couple of days.  We had a steak dinner one night at El Matador on Cuba Street, and takeaway at home the other.  It was lovely to see them and chat away about this and that.

3 Pilates and Yoga

I enjoyed yoga again this week and even did some Yoga with Adriene much to my amazement.  It’s a different way to moving than Pilates, so also good for my brain as well as my body.

4 Breakfast

I’m a person that loves breakfast.  I can’t function properly until I have had had my first cup of tea and something to eat.  Today I had scrambled eggs on toast, but other favourites are poached eggs (Saturdays before Pilates…), boiled eggs (ie eggs) avocado and Marmite on toast, peanut or cashew butter, cream cheese and sometimes good jam or marmalade.  Listen to The Kitchen Cafe if you are looking for inspiration.

IMG_7161

Today’s breakfast

5 Flowers

Books may furnish a room according to Anthony Powell, but flowers add a smile.  I bought this beautiful bunch of purple and blue blooms from Flowers Rediscovered on Tinakori Road, Thorndon.

IMG_7172

6 Cats

Charlie our visiting cat continues to use our house as a place to sleep, defending ‘his’ territory from any other cat (usually Casper, the lovely grey one) that dares to make friends with us.

IMG_7165A black furry ball, sleeping

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

