Cherries, cake and the cinema

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away (or rather a cinema in Edinburgh in 1977), I saw the first ‘Star Wars’ movie and was total absorbed and gripped by it.  Yesterday we went to see the latest film in the series ‘Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens’, and again I was totally absorbed and gripped.  It was so good to see the franchise return to the humour of the original, and the moment when the Millenium Falcon first appears, made me want to shout out ‘hey! look!’.  My favourite moment, however, was when Han Solo, on meeting Princess Leia after a gap of a number of years, noted a change in her hairstyle. You had to be there…. Anyway, we enjoyed it, and would recommend it to any fan of any age, and even those of you who aren’t.

We dined on roast chicken as a change from ham on getting home, though we will be returning to the ham this evening.  The cake I finally got to make (see here for why and a link to the recipe), was fine, though if I make it again I would add some vanilla to the mix for a bit more flavour.

IMG_6457 IMG_6459

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cherry cake x 2

On cherries, we’ve been really enjoying them this year.  They are so full of flavour and I can’t resist them when I see them piled up in front of me.  I even found a ‘three’ in the most recent batch I bought.

IMG_6472

Three cherries

It’s just lovely being on holiday and not knowing what day of the week it is, not having appointments and deadlines. The next post will be about what we got up to today.  In the meantime…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Cheers!

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

