If we were having coffee…or even a cup of tea

If we were having a coffee, or even a cup of tea, on this Sunday afternoon we would be discussing the rugby. I would tell you that I actually woke up just before 5am, and settled myself down on the sofa with pillows, a duvet and our visiting cat, Charlie.  I would tell you that I dozed off and on, and especially kept my eyes tight shut during the second half, until 10 minutes before the end. We would both agree that we were pleased that New Zealand beat Australia, 34-17, that they won two world cups in a row, and three times in total.

If we were having coffee, or even a cup of tea, I would tell you that we’re having guests for dinner tonight and that I’m going to make Carbonnade a la Flamande, using Garage Project Aro Noir beer. I’ve baked a pineapple upside down cake for desert.

IMG_5994Aro Noir Beer with a large fern

If we were having coffee, or even a cup of tea, I would tell you that tomorrow I am flying up to Napier for another work trip.  It makes a change from Hamilton!

IMG_5996

Cake on the cooling rack

If we were having coffee, or even a cup of tea, I’d probably moan like a grumpy old woman about modern Halloween (see last blog post!) and when did people start saying ‘Happy Halloween’ and why. How in the UK, I have heard, that Halloween seems to have become conflated with Guy Fawkes’ Night, but how delighted I was to see on Facebook an old friend of mine make proper turnip lanterns this year.

If we were having coffee, or even a cup of tea, I would tell you that a strange thing happened yesterday as Karl reached into the cupboard for a glass. There was a snap and a perfect circle of glass snapped off, leaving a clean, smooth break. Most peculiar.

IMG_5990Broken glass as if by magic – or was it because it was Halloween?

If we were having coffee, or even a cup of tea, I would tell you how everywhere you look there are flowers popping up and that I’ve been watching silvereyes (a native bird) hop about the trees outside.

IMG_5987

Flowers even here

And if you were still here at 5pm, I’d offer you a quick gin and tonic before you headed home.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

