Sunday: morning, noon and night

I enjoyed writing my last what I did on a Sunday post, so thought I’d do another one.  The day began with…well, rugby, extremely windy weather (the house shook) and breakfast in bed with the cat, since Karl is away.  In case you live in a part of the world where rugby is not headline news, the Rugby World Cup is on just now.  Early this morning, New Zealand time, South Africa beat Wales in the quarter finals and New Zealand (All Blacks) beat France, 62:13.  As one of my Facebook friends said, perhaps it wasn’t the wind shaking the house, but the cheers and roars of people watching the rugby.

Actually, I didn’t watch the match, but did keep track of how it was going, while I talked to the cat, listened to the radio and made myself some breakfast – ciabatta with Fix and Fogg peanut butter and a little tomato, tea, and some Greek yoghurt with passion fruit.

IMG_5847Today’s breakfast

IMG_5846

Passion fruit and yoghurt – a favourite combo

The rest of the morning was taken up with cleaning and ironing – things that had to be done, and all helped along with the radio and various vlogs.  Lunch was a salad bowl, of chicory (or witloof), apple, pumpkin seeds, broccoli, a slug of hemp oil and this lovely goat’s cheese from Over the Moon.  I love their goat camembert, and this blue cheese was bursting with flavour and went so well with the veggies.  However, I could not find the walnuts I also wanted to add – I am sure there were some in the cupboard last week – which I think would have added a nice crunch as well as flavour.

IMG_5851Goat Blue

IMG_5852

Lunch

And so to the afternoon, which consisted of scone making, packing my suitcase and reading.  The scones were made with buttermilk, and turned out light and fluffy.  I used this recipe: sift together 450g self raising flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon icing sugar (unusual I thought).  Rub in 60g butter, and stir in about 420ml buttermilk, or enough to make a sticky dough.  Turn the dough out onto a floured surface, knead until smooth to a 2cm thickness, then cut into scones with your favourite cutter or a small cup.  Place the scones onto a greased baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes at 240C.  Serve with whatever is your favourite scone topping.

IMG_5858Just a little bit left of a buttermilk scone

Suddenly, this afternoon the weather changed.  The sun came out and it was even warm enough to sit outside for a while.  But it will be back to the sofa later, for Dr Who and The Brokenwood Mysteries, before an early night and a new week ahead.  It has been such a lazy weekend, but just what was needed, being sandwiched between two busy weeks.

IMG_5862Sunday ended sunny

 

Leave a Reply

