Spring has sprung: flowers, bees and chicken

Spring is the time of plans and projects so they say (actually, I think it was Tolstoy?), and although part of September was spent with one of the worst colds I’ve had for ages, there has been some planning and thoughts of projects going on.  I even had some rare ‘me’ time too.

Not one of my projects, but a lovely one in the Botanic Gardens to coincide with the school holidays here, are these mini bee friendly gardens.  It was Bee Awareness Month here in New Zealand in September, so I guess this was a contribution to that.

IMG_5691Mini bee gardens

Spring is synonymous with flowers, and I’m back into buying some for home.  I picked up that spring classic, daffodils, and also these poppies.  I just love their bobbing heads that before they flower, look like little alien heads (very appropriate given the discovery of water on Mars…).

IMG_5719

A few daffodils

IMG_5717Poppies

One day, I really must try something to contribute to My Growing Edge, a monthly blog event to share new cooking experiences.  I do have crumpets on my ‘must cook’ list, for example, but there are other things too.  I’m always on the look out for quick and easy things to cook on week nights, and although this recipe for Popcorn Chicken in Capital magazine didn’t use anything I haven’t cooked before, it was a good boost to ideas for those wet Wednesday nights.

Start with the marinade of 1 cup thick Greek or other thick yoghurt, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, 2 cloves of crushed garlic, 2 teaspoons smoked paprika, 1 tablespoons chopped parsley.

IMG_5593

Really good yoghurt

Chop 4 chicken breasts into 2cm cubes and marinate for a couple of hours or over night or prepare first thing in the morning so that it is ready when you walk through the door, ravenous.  Mix panko crumbs with the rest of the parsley and season as necessary.  Fry until cooked.

Serve with chipotle lime mayonnaise.  I cheated and used shop bought mayonnaise and added a good dollop of chipotle and a dash of lime juice.

IMG_5591

Chipotle

IMG_5595Cooking chicken

The recipe is by Nikki and Jordan Shearer who were finalists in Masterchef New Zealand in  2014.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

