When life gives you lemons…make a cake

There are several expressions I can’t stand – one being ‘when life gives you lemons….’.  There’s just something so dreadfully cheery about it.  Along with ‘wake up and smell the coffee’ (aaagghh!), these are phrases I avoid using and can feel my heckles rise when I hear them.

IMG_48623 little lemons

Anyway, Saturday was a rather wet day and not one for being outside that much.  With all the lemons about, I decided to make a lemon yoghurt cake.  A few weeks ago, I bought the new cook book by Unna Burch of The Forest Cantina, “My Kitchen Garden”, and used her recipe.  It was for a far bigger cake than I wanted, so I just halved the recipe and made one loaf tin sized cake.

For one loaf tin cake, preheat the oven to 180C and grease a loaf tin.  Dust with flour and bang out the excess into the sink.  Mix together (the recipe used a mixer with a paddle attachment, I used a wooden spoon) 1 cup plain yoghurt, 1 cup sugar (unrefined and Fair Trade for preference), 3 eggs, zest of one large lemon and 1 teaspoon vanilla paste until fully combined.  Add 1/2 cup of neutral oil, such as canola, and mix well  Add 1/3 cup lemon juice and mix well.  This process stops the mixture from curdling.  Fold in 1.5 cups of flour and 2 teaspoons of baking powder, taking care not to overmix.  Pour into the prepared tin and bake in the centre of the oven for about 45 minutes.  Top with an icing if you like of a mix of the juice of one or two lemons and about 1/2 cup of icing sugar, depending on how thick you like it.

Lesson from today’s baking project: When you decide to halve a recipe, remember to halve all ingredients.  As I was typing out the recipe, I realised that I had not halved the oil……

Verdict: The moment came to cut the cake, and I really dreaded what I would find.  Actually, it was all right and edible, very soft and quite light in fact – thank goodness!  We were able to enjoy a slice of it with a cup of excellent coffee made by my husband, and I vowed to make it again, properly this time.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
A slice of lemon yoghurt cake

Meanwhile, the dreich* weather, as we say in Scotland, continues.  The photograph below was taken waiting at the bus stop the other day when it was also a bit grey and gloomy.

IMG_5580Waiting…

Well, as they say, every cloud has a silver lining, and the benefits of bad weather has meant a good excuse to stay indoors, drink tea and catch up on reading and watching movies.  Now, there is an idiomatic expression I do like!

*Dreich: dreary, grey and miserable.

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

