Cee’s Challenge: Week 25

Tuesday means Cee’s Challenge, already up to week 25.  Where has the year gone to?  It’s winter here of course, and after some lovely weather in recent weeks, it has turned wet and cold.

What did you or did not like about the first apartment you ever rented?

I’ll change this to bought as stayed with my family until I bought my first apartment when I was 23.  I guess I liked the kitchen – it was a good size, brand new, and a place for a dining table.

What kind of art is your favorite? Why?

I wasn’t sure how to answer this – genre, period, style?  I love going to photography exhibitions.

How many siblings do you have? What’s your birth order?

Two older brothers – one 18 years older who lives in Vancouver and one 11 years older who lives in Edinburgh.

Complete this sentence:  I’m dreaming of a white …. (and no you can’t use Christmas as your answer)

A tough one! A white tiled bathroom, with dark blue accents (cheeting a little!).

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week,

One evening last week, I took a taxi home after my Pilates class.  I got chatting to the taxi driver, as one does.  She came from Ethiopia, and I asked her if she liked living in New Zealand, where she had been for 12 years.  “Yes,” she replied, “it has democracy for ladies.  I can walk along the street, meet my friends for coffee, do whatever I like, just the same as a man.”  It really made me stop and think about how lucky I have been being born, growing up and living in Europe and now New Zealand.

An historical note – New Zealand was the first country to give women the vote in 1893.  Until 31st December this year, some of the pedestrian crossings near Parliament depict Kate Sheppard, who campaigned for votes for women, striding out as the ‘walk’ signal.

kiwi_icon_kate_lights_up_the_capital_370026300

and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

The weekend of course!  Let’s hope the weather gets a little warmer.

IMG_4681

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

