Lunches, lemons and a different type of brownie

Now I work full time, lunchtimes are a little oasis in the middle of the day.  Most days, I take leftovers or a salad in a plastic box, eat it at my desk so I can then get out and go for a walk.  This week, there hasn’t been much in the way of leftovers.  The protein options to add to salad were reduced to cheese or tuna, neither of which for some reason appealed this week, so I popped out to one of the many local cafes instead.  On Wednesday I went to Gasoline on The Terrace for an excellent panini and a moment to read a Dorothy Sayers.

IMG_4851A moment to read

IMG_4852Salami and brie panini with a salad

On Thursday I went to a nearby branch of Pandoro where I had a vegetable calzone, filled with artichokes, sundried tomatoes and other goodies.

IMG_4854A hearty plate

I have to say I could get quite used to this as a lunch time activity, sitting reading and eating something someone else has made for me, switching off from the office.

Sticking to relaxing and recuperating, it is now Saturday, and after Pilates and food shopping, I baked Lemon and Coconut Brownies.  It’s been years since I made chocolate brownies, and this recipe caught my eye when I was browsing for this week’s baking project.  With the problem I am having with my shoulder, I’m trying to avoid anything involving lots of beating, so this also met that need.

IMG_4862

Preheat the oven to 180ºC and line a 20 x 30cm slab cake pan with non-stick baking paper.  Melt 250g butter in a saucepan over medium heat, and pour into a bowl when melted.  Stir 2 Australian/New Zealand cups of sugar, then add 4 eggs, 1 at a time, and stir until mixture is thick and glossy.  Sift 1.5 cups flour over the egg mixture and stir until well combined. Finally stir in 1 cup dessicated coconut, 3 teaspoons of lemon rind and 1/4 cup of lemon juice. Spread the mixture over the base of the prepared slice tin.

IMG_4869

Bake for around 30 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Set aside in the pan to cool completely, before cutting into pieces and dusting with icing sugar.

Verdict?  Very lemony, very coconuty (a word?), a bit sweet, but excellent texture.

IMG_4876

Note to self: this is the second lemon and coconut based cake I’ve made in the past couple of months.

Another conversion chart can be found here.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

