A sunny Sunday, listening to the radio and Monday evening

It’s now Monday evening, and while Karl watches ‘Game of Thrones’, I’m sitting listening to a 1960s BBC comedy sketch show called ‘Play it Cool’, starring Ian Carmichael and browsing blogs.  He had a perfect radio voice – wonderful in ‘The Small, Intricate Life of Gerald C Potter’ from the late 1970s and as Peter Wimsey in the radio dramatisations of Dorothy L Sayers’ novels. The show is delightfully dated, and fine for switching off on a Monday.

I’m a big fan of radio, voice radio not music, as I think I have mentioned before.  The first thing I do when I come home, or wake up, is switch the radio on.  It takes me through the day and my routines.  I listen these days to Radio New Zealand and BBC Radio 4 and 4 Extra on demand, following serials, series and comedy programmes, though recently I have also got into podcasts from TED and ‘This American Life’ (and of course ‘Serial’ when it was on).

On a very different note and totally unrelated note, the weather this weekend was lovely, a real Indian summer. On Sunday we drove out to Makara again, one of our regular weekend spots.

IMG_4661

View from Makara

IMG_4666

Gorse bushes and native trees

IMG_4667

Makara beach

Tomorrow morning I’ll be up early to go to an early Xtend Barre class before work.  I actually enjoy those classes as it sorts of sets you up for the day.  It is tough to get up early though on these dark mornings!  Still, I am determined to still go three times a week to classes, and the early morning ones are a good way to fit them in. Meantime, it is back to the radio and some recipe reading, a lovely relaxing end to the day.

Leave a Reply

