A pie, some parsnips and Australian rules

Saturday, as I mentioned in my last post, was Anzac Day, and I have to confess that we failed to get up for the 5:30am dawn service over at the Pukeahu National War Memorial Park.  Our plans for the day included going to the Australian Rules Football game, the third year that two teams from the league have come over to Wellington to play on this day. This year saw the St Kilda Saints take on Carlton.  Now, neither of us knew anything about the game, though I had seen bits on TV in the UK.  Luckily, there was an Australian couple sitting next to us, who could explain things like the scoring system to us, but the game is so fast and has so much going on that it was fun to watch anyway.  The game is played in 4 quarters of 30 minutes each, has 18 players in each team, a double goal post and involves a lot of running, players pushing into each other and fighting on pitch. Carlton beat the Saints, much to the joy of the couple next to us.

As is so often the case, the weather over this holiday weekend has not been good, and food is turning autumnal  On Sunday, I made a steak and ale (or rather, stout) pie.

IMG_4621

Garage Project Aro Noir (tasted good as well)

I guess you could make any beef in beer recipe, but for a pie you also want to add vegetables.  Confession time – I used frozen puff pastry.  Excuse – the easy recipe I followed suggested it.

IMG_4624

A demolished pie

IMG_4625I’m never going to get a job as a food stylist

With it, we had a parsnip puree.  Parsnips are one of my favourite vegetables, and with autumn upon us, it means they are readily available.  Back in February, The Frugal Hausfrau, had a recipe for pureed parsnips, and I’ve been dreaming of them since.  They were just as good as I hoped, though I also added a pinch of nutmeg to the mixture.

My last post ended with an earthquake, and this post will end with another, the devastating 7.9 quake in Nepal.  The latest news reports 2,500 deaths, and that is before rescuers get to remote areas.  There have been large aftershocks, causing yet more damage.  Living on a fault line as we do now, these events are a warning to us of what earthquakes can do.

5 Comments

    1. Thanks! The ale was really good to drink (though quite strong) and excellent in the pie. And thanks for the parsnip recipe – different to how I have done it before but will definitely use this again.

Leave a Reply

