Baking, biscuits and barre

The weather brightened up at the weekend, with some sunshine, though late Sunday the weather turned and we had quite a stormy night.  It actually proved to be quite a productive weekend, with Xtend Barre class, ironing, food shopping, reading, dinner with friends and Sunday lunch out at Scorching Bay (more of that in a later post).  Actually, I discovered that I have been doing the barre class for exactly a year.  Since doing the 60 day challenge, which finished a couple of weeks ago, I have decided to stick to going three times a week.  I really enjoy it and there is such a nice community at the studio, with excellent, friendly teachers.

IMG_4355

Drying X-tend Barre socks

I even found time to bake this weekend.  I am slowly working my way through my Australian Women’s Weekly “Cakes, Biscuits and Slices” book biscuit section, and this week I tried Golden Pecan biscuits.  These were supposed to be made into twists, but I confess I chickened out and just made little round biscuits.

To make, preheat the oven to 180C.  Grease oven trays and line with baking paper.  Combine 1 tablespoon of golden syrup with 40g of chopped pecan nuts.  I guess you could use walnuts instead.

IMG_4485IMG_4486

Pecans and golden syrup

Beat 125g softened butter, 125g sugar, 1 tablespoon golden syrup and 1 egg yolk (which leaves 1 egg white of course which you can do with what you will) with an electric mixer until light and fluffy, then stir in 150g sifted plain flour.  Shape into balls, place on trays about 3cm apart, and top each one with a little of the nut mixture.  Bake for about 10 minutes and cool on the trays.

IMG_4487

IMG_4490

Verdict?  Absolutely gorgeous, impossible to just have one, and perfect with a cup of tea (or even coffee).  I think these might just be my favourite to date.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

