Rain, recipes and blogging out

After the lovely weather yesterday, it is raining today.  It isn’t cold, just wet, but not a nice day to be out, so I’ve done a load of laundry, cleaned out the fridge, shined up the bathroom and even ironed. I’ve also been pouring over cook books and magazines as I’m a bit fed up of cooking (and eating) the same old things over and over again. Yesterday I tried Pomegranate Chicken from ‘What Katie Ate At The Weekend’, the latest book from Katie Quinn Davies.  This book is such a delight to look at, with some gorgeous photographs and great looking recipes.

Unfortunately, my photographs of the dish were shocking, but it tasted sublime, sort of tangy, sticky and bursting with flavours.  First make a marinade of 2 tablespoons olive oil, 80ml pomegranate molasses, the juice of a lemon, 3 cloves of garlic, 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard, 2 tablespoons sherry vinegar, 2 sprigs of mint, salt and pepper.  Marinate the chicken – she suggests chicken thighs, but I used cut up chicken breast – for at least 6 hours or overnight.  To cook, just fry or barbeque.  I love pomegranate molasses and always forget there is a bottle sitting in the cupboards, so it was also a good way to use it other than just in dressings.

IMG_4337I’ll never win a prize for food photography!

After that burst of housework, I settled down to catch up on a load of blogs, everything from Hungry and Frozen to Vivianna Does Makeup to My Darling Lemon Thyme and all the ones I follow about all sorts of things.  It was a great afternoon on the sofa, and something I’ve really been meaning to do for ages. There is just so much good stuff out there to ‘blog out’ to (or is it with?).

And so as the evening approaches, so does tonight’s dinner which is an old favourite, resurrected, pork fillet in a creamy mustard sauce.  Dishes like this are always helped of course with good meat, which is easy to get here in New Zealand.  This is one of those quick and easy but always good dishes.  All you need to do is thinly slice some pork fillet, heat some oil, add the pork.  Toss in a thinly sliced onion, a garlic clove, some mushrooms (to taste), and cook until the meat is cooked to your liking.  Stir in crème frâiche, or here in New Zealand I use low fat sour cream, and mustard, then tear in some fresh basil. As soon as the sauce has gone runny, remove the pan from the heat.  I’m going to serve this with rice as it’s pasta night tomorrow, and some sort of salad with whatever takes my fancy in my newly cleaned fridge.

IMG_4341

Still life with mushrooms and garlic

IMG_4343

The finished product (the picture of it cooking was almost identical to the chicken one above…)

My resolution for the week is to stay positive and not moan too much about my job, so I’ve booked a 7am Xtend Barre class for tomorrow morning with which to start the week.  The 60 day challenge there is coming to an end, so once it’s over, I’ll return to why I enjoy these classes and why I can actually get up an hour earlier on a Monday morning to go along to one 🙂

PS – the ‘featured image’ is our terrace at night in the rain.  Not really related at all…..

6 Comments

  1. I’d love to take 6 months out from live and read and cook from blogs and cook books without any interruptions. Wouldn’t that be lovely?

    I’ve never used crème frâiche, but love to use sour cream or greek yogurt.

Leave a Reply

