Biscuits, summer days and neighbourhood cats

I was reviewing the week and trying to think of what to write in this week’s blog post.  I had my whakatau or formal welcome at work (more on that in next week’s post), we went to hear Peter Hook (Joy Division, New Order and now Peter Hook and the Light) play at Bodega, and ended the working week with an excellent curry with friends at a local place in Northland.  In between all that, I fitted in my Xtend barre and Pilates classes as well as work, so it has actually been quite a busy week.

IMG_4231

Still summer

Summer is coming to an end with cooler and darker mornings, though it is still warm and sunny and the cicadas are still singing.  Since our visiting cat Charlie’s owners have moved, we no longer have a cat using our house for sleeping during the day.  We still have some neighbourhood cats around though, such as the black grumpy one, who actually let me tickle him under the chin the other day, and the cute little black and white one, who I think may also be moving on soon, judging by the furniture being moved out of ‘his’ house this morning.

IMG_4215

The cute little cat with a red collar

IMG_4235

No longer grumpy

And at last, my biscuit baking plan for 2015 actually got underway.  Can you believe I have done no baking since the year began?  I guess holidays, trips and summer weather have kind of got in the way.  I decided to start with some buttery pecan biscuits.  It’s a really easy recipe and produces some very moreish biscuits, at least judging by husband’s rather guilty look, as he sneaked off with a second one in his hands.

Preheat the oven to 170C (150C if a good fan oven) and grease oven trays (I used 2) then line them with baking paper.  Beat together 200g softened butter, 200g brown sugar and 1 egg until light and fluffy.  Stir in 60g of chopped pecan nuts before adding 260g of sifted self-raising flour (as I did, or plain flour and 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda).  Roll level tablespoons of dough into balls, flatten a little and place on trays a good distance apart – a couple of centimetres.  Bake for about 15 minutes and cool the biscuits on the trays.

IMG_4241

Butter pecan biscuits (or cookies if you prefer)

Now I have started on my biscuit baking, I have three others in mind to make, but if anyone has a favourite recipe, then please feel free to share with me.

Leave a Reply

