6 things: Eating and Drinking

Just a quick post this weekend.  Other than enjoying lovely hot summer weather, it’s been a pretty normal week with work and catching up on TV shows.

1) Wednesday saw the second anniversary of us arriving in New Zealand – hard to believe!  To mark the occasion, we went down to Cosa Nostra in Thorndon for dinner.  I had pan fired tarakihi with a roasted courgette, fenne, and pear salad and a lemon caper dressing which was bursting with flavour, and for desert, Affogato Corretto of course, with amaretto.

IMG_4088

2) In a mad moment, I signed up for the X-tend Barre 60 day challenge.  This basically involves healthy eating and attending 3 X-tend classes a week.  Within the challenge  you can set your own goals, which for me is to lose a few pounds.  We are supposed to cut back on tea (help!) and coffee too, so I got myself some green and herbal teas for work and also these fruit teas, which can be brewed hot or cold.  So far I’ve only tried the blood orange one which was quite nice cold.

IMG_4091

3) I also picked up this bag of goodness from Commonsense Organics to add to lunch time salads. It contains almonds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds and sunflower seeds along with three different types of sea vegetables.  I have yet to taste this, but it certainly sounds good and just a little bit different

IMG_4093

4) Today we had some friends with their two small children for Sunday lunch.  I kept it simple with dips to start with, and then baked some salmon in the oven, with lemon and lime juice and bay leaves for flavour.  With it I served new potatoes, a large green salad, and this tomato feta salad.  I semi-followed an idea I saw in Cuisine magazine, and roasted the feta.  To do this you just cube the feta, place on a baking tray lined with baking paper, grate over the zest of half a lemon, season with pepper and whatever else you fancy I guess, a drizzle of olive oil and roast for about 25 minutes at 220C.  While the feta is roasting, chop lots of different coloured tomatoes into chunks, season, grate over the rest of the lemon and a little olive oil and some lemon juice to taste.

IMG_4096 IMG_4098Mix it well, add the feta when done and scatter over some fresh basil (the magazine suggested mint, but I had basil to hand, which always goes with tomatoes).

IMG_4100

5) I also made a sauce I first made years ago from a Delia Smith recipe, which is basically a mashed up avocado, 200 ml creme fraiche (I used sour cream – low fat naturally!), a small clove of mashed up garlic (I actually used smoked garlic salt), seasoning and 1 teaspoon of sherry vinegar.  It goes really well with the salmon, and its lovely pale green colour contrasts well with the pink of the fish.  Of course I forgot to take a picture of it, so here is a picture of an avocado (one of my favourite foods) instead.

IMG_4103

6) Finally, spotted in a wine shop in Nouméa – wine to drink with sushi.  I was curious to know what it was like I have to admit and whether it would really complement the food.

IMG_4061

Leave a Reply

