Cake, strawberries and “summer”

Thursday (4th December) was my Name Day, that is, St Barbara’s Day. Name days are a tradition in many European countries, and is basically celebrating the day of the year associated with your name. In our family, that means having cake, so yesterday (Saturday) I made myself a lemon drizzle cake.  With it being summer, I served it with strawberries and a dollop of Greek yoghurt.

IMG_3665

The recipe I use for this cake is one from the BBC Good Food site.  It is actually a really easy cake and always tastes so good.  All you need to do is preheat the oven 180C. Beat together 225g softened butter (see here for handy tips to do this fast) and 225g caster sugar until pale and creamy.   Add 4 eggs, one at a time, and mix slowly all together.  Sift in 225g self-raising flour, stir and then add the finely grated zest of a lemon and mix until well combined. Line a loaf tin (approx 8 x 21cm) with greaseproof paper, spoon the mixture in and level the top with a spoon.

Bake for around 45-50 minutes depending on your oven.  Test if it is done by inserting a thin skewer or special cake testing device and checking that it comes out clean.

IMG_3678

Mix together the juice of 1 and a half lemons and 85g caster sugar.  Prick the warm cake all over, then pour over the drizzled.  The juice sinks in and makes a crispy and sticky topping.  Let the cake cool in the tin to allow the juices to be absorbed.

IMG_3668

I’m lucky my name day is far enough away from my birthday (July) that I can enjoy the two days at different times of the year.  Now that I am living in the southern hemisphere, I have my name day in summer, so can enjoy the strawberries I would normally have on my birthday, which is now in winter (you get my drift…).  Mind you, you wouldn’t know it was summer from the rather grey, wet weather we have been having.  It is all reminding me a bit of summers in Scotland!

 

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

