Share Your World: Week 44

This is my third “Share Your World” post and a tough one….but that is the joy of being forced to write about something different. So thanks again to Cee for this week’s challenge!  Your questions really made me think!

What is your most vivid memory of the kitchen in your childhood?

We had one big room that was a kitchen and family room where we ate, watched TV, played games etc.  While not necessarily my most vivid memory, this semi-regular event sticks in my mind.  We had a gas cooker with an eye level grill.  You had to be careful what you put next to it…for example, tea towels to dry…except of course people weren’t that careful and every so often, one would catch fire.  This brought cheers of ‘whose fault was it this time?’ and a rush to put the flaming tea towel in the kitchen sink. Not a story to repeat to anyone in health and safety!

As a child, who was your favorite relative?

I don’t believe I had a favourite relative.  I lived with my parents and older brother.  My other brother who is much older than me, moved abroad when I was 4 years old.  I only met my English cousins once a year, my grandparents all died before I was born and I didn’t meet my Polish family until I was an adult.

IMG_2360

What did you or did not like about the first apartment you ever rented?

I didn’t actually ever live in a rented apartment until I was in my 40s, having always either lived in family homes or in my own, bought apartments.  The first rented apartment was in Copenhagen and had the worst bathroom ever.  The shower was attached to the wash-hand basin in a way quite common there, but that I had not seen before.  Not only did the mechanism to change between basin and shower not really work properly, the drains frequently blocked, flooding the whole room.  I don’t know how I survived it for 8.5 years!

What kind of TV commercial would you like to make? Describe it.

I’ve just listened to a short piece on the radio about the sort of mistakes people have made about New Zealand (it was following up a report about a Chicago newspaper calling the All Blacks rugby team Australian – major mistake!).  Apparently, if you type in to Google “Does New Zealand…” an option comes up to complete the sentence, “exist”.  So I guess I would like to make a commercial for the rest of the world about New Zealand – it does exist!

IMG_2861

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week?

Warmer days as spring is here.  We’ve had some storms as well, but it is definitely brighter and warmer.

and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

This is a Tuesday to Tuesday question for me as I pick up the challenge on Tuesday mornings in New Zealand. I’m in between jobs, so hoping to find some time for writing and reading.

 

5 Comments

  1. I am not a great world traveller or claim to be an expert on the world, but I do know that New Zealand exists. 🙂 I at least passed that test. Thanks for sharing.

    1. I actually tested what was said on the radio about “does NZ..” on Google and “does it exist” actually came up about third! Forgot to wish your wife a Happy Birthday!

    1. It had two redeeming features – a big balcony with a good view which was great for entertaining as well as sitting, and its location in the city. I guess we always knew we were going to move one day!

Leave a Reply

