Scones, sofa and a wet Sunday

The clocks may have gone forward, heralding spring, but today, Sunday, is grey and very wet.  Charlie, our visiting cat, came round this morning and decided that the best place to be is sleeping on the bed.  I don’t blame him.

I’m on the sofa with my duvet, some magazines, and a cup of tea, blogging and watching the film version of “Cold Comfort Farm” (which I see was made in 1995).  If you haven’t read the book, do so.  Written by Stella Gibbons and first published in 1932, is one of those books to pick up on a rainy day or when you are feeling a little down and in need of cheering up.  The film of course changes some of the details, but is pretty faithful to the spirit of the book.

The weather called for baking, and as I’ve been dreaming of a scone all week for some reason, that is what I made.

IMG_3176Now, I’ve been making scones since I was a teenager, and always make them the same way with an egg beaten into the milk before adding this to the dry mixture.  However, as I was browsing my scone and muffin book for some inspiration, I noticed that the basic recipe was different, using no egg and adding a bit of water.  So, I tried them that way adding, some lemon rind and cranberries for some flavour.

The Australian Women’s Weekly scone recipe calls for 375g self-raising flour, 1 tablespoon caster sugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 30 g butter, 180ml milk and about 125ml water as necessary.  Sift flour, sugar and salt into a bowl and rub in butter.  I added the grated rind of one lemon and about 1/2 a cup or a good handful of dried cranberries at this stage.  Add the milk and enough water to make a sticky dough.  Turn dough onto a floured surface, need until smooth, and then cut out the scones.  Aim for around 2cm thick.  I got 12 scones from this mixture.  Place onto a greased baking tray and bake for 15 minutes at 240C.

IMG_3179

Verdict?  They were more crispy on the outside than my usual scone, and I didn’t think quite so fluffy in the middle, but they still tasted good, which is really all that matters at the end of the day.

IMG_3180

Wet Sunday afternoon (plus tea and scones)

11 Comments

  1. At least we had sunshine today – but it looks like the rain is moving up the country, just in time for work! Your scones look lovely. 😄

  2. If you use buttermilk and a little more butter they’ll even be better. I love scones, crunchy or soft as long as they are fresh and warm. Have a great week!

  3. There’s nothing better than scones on a dreary day to pick you up. They look delicious 🙂 I use lemonade in my scones and they’re always soft and fluffy!

Leave a Reply

