A cake, a film and a blog

The New Zealand International Film Festival started in Wellington on Friday, and we went to see ‘We Are The Best’, the latest film from director Lukas Moodyson.  Based on a graphic novel by the director’s wife, it tells the story of three teenage girls in 1980s Stockholm, who form a punk band after hearing that punk is dead.  It’s a really fun film, and to my mind, the director really got what it is like to be a teenage girl.  For me, it was also really nice to listen to Swedish for a while, and to recognise all sorts of small Swedish things (like the wooden butter knives, just like ours, in a breakfast scene). It is well worth going to see if you get a chance.

Meanwhile, one of the blogs I always read and which I have mentioned before in previous posts is Laura Vincent’s Hungry and Frozen.  I started reading it not long before we moved to New Zealand and loved the way she wrote and her beautifully thrown together cooking style. I’ve kept following her posts since being here.

So, after reading her latest post, I decided to have a go at making the featured winter plum cake.  Having bought the plums and planning to make it on Saturday afternoon, it was a nice surprise to be served our pre-film glasses of wine by Laura Vincent herself.  It was one of those moments where I thought do I say ‘hi I’m a big fan of your blog and bought your book’ and sound like a mad stalker, or just smile and pay for our wine, which is of course what I did.  However, as we were leaving to go to see the film, I did speak to her (‘you are Laura Vincent aren’t you?’) which was only slightly less mad stalker like. Anyway, here is my winter plum cake.

IMG_2770

IMG_2774

I didn’t add the icing as I really don’t like it: there is something about the gritty sugariness of it that makes my teeth go on edge.  It was also baked in a slightly larger tin so is slightly flatter.  The cake itself though was so good – moist, full of flavour and one that demanded more than one slice at a time and definitely one I would do again.  Highly recommended and thanks to Laura Vincent for the recipe!

 

 

2 Comments

  1. lol. I would have been too shy to talk to her. Which is funny because at the end of the day, bloggers are bloggers. Maybe one day someone like me will come up to you and say “Are you Thistles and Kiwis?” 🙂

    1. I hope she was quite flattered to be recognised! As you say at the end of the day bloggers are bloggers. I’m sure if someone came up to me and asked if I was Thistles and Kiwis I would feel quite surprised and flattered 🙂

Leave a Reply

