Queen’s Birthday Holiday Weekend: Retro Baking

The weekend is my time for baking, and I had a craving for scones on Sunday.  Scones come in all sorts of varieties, fruit, plain, cheese, dropped and what my old Be-Ro flour recipe book calls, Victoria scones.  To me, these are the scones my mother (who was not a good cook) used to sometimes make on a Sunday.  I think they even look a bit retro with the cherries on the top.  The recipe is basically a basic scone mix, but instead of cutting out neat little circles, you form the mixture into rounds, which I suspect is why my mother made them instead.

IMG_2367

Victoria scones

As I said, it is just a basic scone mixture of 200g self raising flour, pinch of salt, 50g butter, 25g sugar, 1 egg and enough milk to make 125ml.  Rub the butter into the flour, stir in sugar, mix into a soft dough, knead lightly onto a floured board and divide into 4.  Roll each piece into a round about 1cm thick, place on a greased baking tray and cut across the top to mark each round into 4.  Brush with egg and milk and place half a glace cherry on each quarter.  Bake at 200C for 10-15 minutes.

IMG_2370

I’m sitting here with a large pot of Tokyo lime green tea from T leaf T, rubbish on the TV, a book and contemplating making more scones.  Perfect holiday Monday.

Footnote:  Be-Ro is a well known brand of flour sold in the UK.  The current cook book is in its 41st edition.

 

Leave a Reply

