A museum, some savoury scones and more sunshine

This week, we have had some nice weather, and you can really begin to feel that the warmer half of the year is here.  Since I have now just begun my long summer holiday, I can only hope that we have another good summer here like they did last year.

One thing I intend to do this summer, is go to all the places in Wellington I thought I would have time to go to when we first moved here, but never did.  When you live in a place, it is sometimes easy to ignore or forget places, as you become wrapped up in a daily routine.  On Friday afternoon, after I handed in my key at work, I walked along to The New Zealand Portrait Gallery.  There were a few of the permanent collection on show, and a retrospective of the portrait art of Piera McArthur.  While her paintings are certainly full of life and colour, I wasn’t so keen on some of them (I want to say ‘ too blobby’ but that sounds really silly…) but it was certainly an interesting exhibition and one worth seeing.

From there I walked along to the Museum of Wellington City and Sea, which recently appeared on a list of the world’s top fifty museums.  It is housed in an old bond store,  and charts the history of the city, which of course also reflects the history of New Zealand.  It is an excellent museum, with a mix of exhibits and good use of multimedia.  Should you ever be in Wellington, I recommend it.

IMG_1344

Museum of Wellington City & Sea

From there I walked along the waterfront, a very slightly different way than usual.  It is good to do that sometimes as I spotted this sculpture I would swear I hadn’t seen before.

IMG_1357Fruits of the Garden by Paul Dibble

Today, Saturday, I treated myself to a summer dress from Bobby Soxer.  It is lovely and bright and hopefully I will be able to wear it quite a bit.  Picture later!  I also made some savoury scones to enjoy outside in the sunshine.

Preheat the oven to 230C and grease a flat tray.  Sift 375g self-raising flour and a pinch of salt into a bowl and add 3 teaspoons of cumin seeds and 2 teaspoons of ground cumin.  Rub in 30g of butter, then stir in 1 tablespoon of tomato paste mixed with180ml milk and around 125ml of water to make a sticky dough.  Stir through some basil leaves, finely chopped.  Turn dough onto floured surface, knead quickly and cut into rounds.  Brush with a little milk and bake for 15 minutes.

IMG_1364

Savoury scones

IMG_1365

Verdict – very tasty with some good butter

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

