Spring time, muffins, and a report on the yams

September is here and spring is well and truly here, with flowers blooming everywhere and a wee bit more heat in the sun.  It is also Fathers’ Day here in New Zealand, so at the request of my husband, I have made some blueberry muffins.

IMG_0953

Blueberry muffins

I usually use the recipe from my Australian Women’s Weekly book of ‘Muffins, Scones and Breads’.  It is so easy.  All you need to do is mix up 300g of self-raising flour and 150g soft brown sugar (always sift your flour – it really makes a difference).  Stir in 1 beaten egg, 180ml milk (the recipe actually says buttermilk, but I just used milk) and 125ml vegetable oil.  If using frozen blueberries like I did, make sure you roll them in flour before adding as otherwise your muffins will be purple.  Of course, you may like them like that.  I added about 150g plus a few more to the mixture.  Pour the mixture into a greased and prepared pan, and bake for approximately 25 minutes at 180C.  This mixture makes 12 muffins of the size you can see in the picture.

As I mentioned in the last post, I tasted yams for the first time yesterday.  I just kept them simple, roasting them with some olive oil.  All I can say is yams are yummy and I am looking forward to using them again.  My cottage pie worked out well too, with a base of minced beef, onion, carrot, a sneaky parsnip (the boys claim they don’t like them, but never notice them when I cook with them), tomato puree, Worcestershire sauce and some herbs.  I like to add a little nutmeg to my mashed potato – it sort of adds a warmth and depth to the buttery delight that is mashed potato.

IMG_0946Saturday night comfort food

Misse Moj spent most of yesterday evening with us, and proved that cats do indeed understand Swedish by sitting on a shelf where there are quite a few books in that language.

IMG_0947Hmmm…maybe time to read about human history in Swedish

Mind you, it could have also wanted to borrow the biography of Balanchine…..

3 Comments

  1. Your muffins and cottage pie sound delicious. I’m not convinced about the cat and the Swedish. Just thought I’d leave a comment to say hello. I enjoyed reading your post.

Leave a Reply

