More sausages, more crumble and other good things

As my husband pointed out to me a few moments ago, this blog was going to be about our new life in New Zealand, but increasingly, I seem to be writing more about food than anything else.  Well, I am afraid folks it is yet another food related blog this week, as I feel writing about marking over 100 assignments is not in the least bit interesting. Not exactly food related, though it eats a lot, the visiting cat, or ‘misse moj’ as it is known, is now a semi permanent feature of our lives, jumping on top of cupboards and getting stuck (really…) and stealing a bit of fish that I was about to cook.

IMG_0650

Karl with his favourite things – coffee, red wine, iPad and Misse Moj

It’s funny how even though you know there is a place or shop or whatever you want to go to, you never seem to get there.  Now that the Pilates studio I go to has moved to Wakefield Street, I have finally had a chance to explore that part of town a bit more, without carrying bags of veges from the market.  Why I had never gone into Commonsense Organics before is a mystery, as it is the sort of shop I love to spend ages in, browsing the shelves and looking for interesting things.  Today I came out with nutmeg, miso soup and some herbal tea  http://www.commonsenseorganics.co.nz/

Next door, is the gourmet charcuterie, Big Bad Wolf, that I had been recommended at the sausage making workshop.  We popped in there for lunch today.  I opted for the spit roast pork sandwich…

IMG_0656

My sandwich

I am not a big fan of crackling, or pork come to that, but this was delicious and I even enjoyed the crackling on the top for the first time in my life.  Karl opted for the sausage platter…

IMG_0655

Four different sausages, four different pickles

The sausages of the day were pork and fennel, carbonara, Provencal lamb and pork and watercress.  I tried a couple, but unfortunately don’t know which ones as the sausages came unlabelled, but both were really delicious.  There was a divine lemony chutney on the plate that I devoured while no-one was looking, as well as a rather nice apple one that went well with my pork.  I’d like to go back again sometime and just pick a sausage from the selection and have it in a sandwich.  The products are not cheap, but picking something up as a lunch time treat is worth it.  http://www.bigbadwolf.co.nz/

I’m off to make another pear and apple crumble as the pears are still hard from last week and I have a couple of apples to use up.  Oh and I promised a report on tamarillos – much nicer than feijoas in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

